Community

To:
Subject:

Lots of Questions

jlo
Aug 14, 2007 (6 years 250 days ago)

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to this and I have a couple of questions that relate to flash development and releasing a game out on the web.

1) I did some research on some of the Game Portals that were posted in THIS thread and found that most of them had legal that did not protect against derivative works, or the legal for the site was so vague I am unsure our game would be protected at all. This could be a problem for my group. Does it bother any of you? Do you work deals with the sites to protect your works? Or are you putting it out there and not really caring if others grab your code and make almost the same game?

2) What is the traffic like on many of those Game Portals. In particular I am curious to see numbers for Day 1 on a site and beyond. I understand that a site like newgrounds will probably drive more traffic than other smaller sites, but is there any way I could get example numbers? IE - "On day one on Newgrounds my game was #4 and got 5000 hits... once other fresher content came out, by week 4 my numbers were closer to 200 hits a day from that site" OR "We launched our game on 4 different sites and on day one we got 500 hits, but by week four our game was on 40 different sites and was generating 20,000 page views per day" (maybe this question is better asked to the Mochibot forums *shrug*) :)

3) Does anyone NOT try and get sponsorship by sites they are posting to?

4) I see talk about striking deals for a couple of hundred dollars per site to have that site put thier sponsorship behind the game. Does that sponsorship come with more premium placement on the website?

If I am posting this in the wrong spot, let me know and I will move to a more appropriate location. I figured this was a good place as there are many business minded individuals making flash games here. :D

Any help is appreciated1 :)
  • Thankful People:

Lots of Questions

robotJAM